Databases: Scientists' and Organizations' Links to Industry
Return to CSPI U.S.
Non-Profit Organizations Receiving Corporate Funding 
Index of Non-Profit Organizations Receiving Corporate Funding

Biological Effects of Low Level Exposures (BELLE) is an organization of “scientists representing federal agencies, the International Society of Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology, the private sector, and academia...develop[ing] a strategy to encourage the assessment of the biological effects of low level exposures to chemical agents and radioactivity.” (; accessed 9/24/02)

Sponsors and Supporters of their Non-Linearity Conference include:

  • AWWA Research Foundation
  • CRC Press
  • Dow Corning
  • Exxon Mobil
  • Honeywell
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Pfizer
  • Philip Morris, Inc.
  • Rohm and Haas Co.
  • R.J. Reynolds
  • Texaco

(; accessed 9/24/02)

Science Advisory Committee Members include:


  • Edward J. Calabrese, Ph.D.,
    University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Committee Members

  • James Robert Beall, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Energy
  • Michael P. Bolger, Ph.D., U.S. FDA
  • Joseph Borzelleca, Ph.D., Medical College of Virginia
  • James S. Bus, Ph.D., Dow Chemical Company
  • Ralph Cook, M.D., Dow Corning Corporation
  • J. Michael Davis, Ph.D., U.S. EPA
  • Christopher DeRosa, ATSDR
  • David J. Doolittle, Ph.D., R.J. Reynolds
  • Max Eisenberg, Ph.D., Center for Indoor Air Research
  • William Farland, Ph.D., U.S. EPA
  • John Graham, Ph.D., Harvard School of Public Health
  • William F. Greenlee, Ph.D., CIIT, Centers for Health Research
  • Ron W. Hart, Ph.D., National Center for Toxicological Research
  • A.Wallace Hayes, Ph.D., Gillette Company
  • Wayne Jonas, M.D., USUHS
  • John G. Keller, Ph.D., Consultant
  • Roger 0. McClellan, D.V.M., Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology
  • Myron Pollycove, M.D., US Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Stephen M. Roberts, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Harry Salem, Ph.D., U. S. Army
  • Lester Smith, Ph.D., Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry
  • Donald E. Stevenson, Ph.D., Dermigen, Inc.
  • David G. Thomassen, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Energy

International Members

  • John Ashby, Ph.D.,
    Zeneca Central Toxicity Laboratory
    Macclesfield Cheshire, United Kingdom
  • Sadao Hattori, Ph.D.
    Central Research Institute of Electric Power
    Tokyo, Japan
  • Zbigniew Jaworoski, Ph.D.
    Central Laboratory for Radiological Protection
    Warszawa, Poland
  • Shu-Zheng Liu, M.D.
    Norman Bethune University of Medical Sciences
    Changchun, China
  • Franz Oesch, Ph.D.
    University of Mainz-Institute of Toxicology
    Mainz, Federal Republic of Germany
  • Wim F. Passchier, Ph.D.
    Health Council of the Netherlands
    Rijswijk, The Netherlands
  • Konrad Rydzynski, M.D., Ph.D.
    Nofer Institute of Occupational Medicine
    Lodz, Poland
  • Masami Watanabe, Ph.D.
    Nagasaki University
    Nagasaki, Japan

(; accessed 5/22/03)

[Integrity in Science] [CSPI U.S.] Back to Top