Potential Amendment to Authorize ONDCP to Include Alcohol Prevention Messages in the Anti-Drug Media Campaign

On Thursday, May 20, 1999 the full APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE of the U.S. House of Representatives will begin the "markup" of the appropriations bill for "Treasury, Postal and General Government" appropriations, which passed out of subcommittee on Friday.

That bill includes an amendment, sponsored by Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard of California and Congressman Frank Wolf of Virginia, which represents a major potential victory for the prevention and reduction of underage drinking. Essentially, the amendment changes the authorizing legislation for the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) to specifically allow ONDCP to begin including alcohol prevention messages in all of its anti-drug work, particularly in its billion-dollar youth anti-drug media campaign.

Until now, the Drug Czar, General Barry McCaffrey, has claimed that he is prevented by law from working on underage drinking issues. This legislative change would remove a significant obstacle to mounting a major media campaign to prevent underage alcohol use.

UNFORTUNATELY, we believe that the beer industry and some of its congressional allies will try to delete the Roybal-Allard/Wolf language when the full committee considers the bill on Thursday.

For that reason, we strongly urge you to help us contact all members of the Appropriations Committee with a clear message "to oppose any efforts to delete the Wolf-Roybal-Allard amendment on underage drinking from the subcommittee markup."

A complete list of members of the Appropriations Committee, who can be contacted at the main House of Representatives phone number (202-224-3121), follows:

C.W. Bill Young, Florida, Chairman

Ralph Regula, Ohio

David R. Obey, Wisconsin

Jerry Lewis, California

John P. Murtha, Pennsylvania

John Edward Porter, Illinois

Norman D. Dicks, Washington

Harold Rogers, Kentucky

Martin Olav Sabo, Minnesota

Joe Skeen, New Mexico

Julian C. Dixon, California

Frank R. Wolf, Virginia

Steny H. Hoyer, Maryland

Tom DeLay, Texas

Alan B. Mollohan, West Virginia

Jim Kolbe, Arizona

Marcy Kaptur, Ohio

Ron Packard, California

Nancy Pelosi, California

Sonny Callahan, Alabama

Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana

James Walsh, New York

Nita M. Lowey, New York

Charles H. Taylor, North Carolina

Josť E. Serrano, New York

David L. Hobson, Ohio

Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut

Ernest J. Istook, Jr., Oklahoma

James P. Moran, Virginia

Henry Bonilla, Texas

John W. Olver, Massachusetts

Joe Knollenberg, Michigan

Ed Pastor, Arizona

Dan Miller, Florida

Carrie P. Meek, Florida

Jay Dickey, Arkansas

David E. Price, North Carolina

Jack Kingston, Georgia

Chet Edwards, Texas

Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey

Robert E. "Bud" Cramer, Jr., Alabama

Roger F. Wicker, Mississippi

James E. Clyburn, South Carolina

Michael P. Forbes, New York

Maurice D. Hinchey, New York

George R. Nethercutt, Jr., Washington

Lucille Roybal-Allard, California

Randy "Duke" Cunningham, California

Sam Farr, California

Todd Tiahrt, Kansas

Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois

Zach Wamp, Tennessee

Carolyn C. Kilpatrick, Michigan

Tom Latham, Iowa

Allen Boyd, Florida

Anne Northup, Kentucky

Robert Aderholt, Alabama

Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri

John E. Sununu, New Hampshire

Kay Granger, Texas

John E. Peterson, Pennsylvania


For more information call:

George Hacker at (202) 332-9110 Ext. 343

Released: May 17, 1999